Skip to main content
tiCrypt 2.18.1

Security Levels

Prerequisites

User Role:

Sub-admin, Admin

Permission Requirements

  • Projects
    • View projects they are a member of
    • View the members of projects they are a member of
    • View all security levels
    • View their own certifications
  • Project Management
    • Edit projects they manage
    • Add users to projects they manage
    • Edit memberships, such as expiration dates, in projects they manage
    • Remove users from projects they manage
    • Certify users for security requirements
  • Project Administration
    • View all projects
    • Tag anything with any project
    • Create security levels
    • Edit security levels
    • Delete security levels
    • View the members of every project
    • Add users to any project
    • Edit memberships in any project
    • Remove users from any project

Access Security Levels​

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Security Levels in the left panel.

The table requires the View all security levels permission. It shows the Name, Created, Modified, and Requirements columns, plus a Projects column when you have the View all projects permission.

View Project Security Levels​

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Security Levels in the left panel.
  4. Select the security level you want to view.
  5. Click the View button in the top right panel.
  6. In the left panel, view the security level name, description, creation and last modified dates, security requirements, and associated projects.
tip

Optionally, right-click on a selected security level to access its options.

Create a New Security Level​

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Security Levels in the left panel.
  4. Click the Create new security level button in the top right panel.
  5. In the Create new security level dialog, fill in the fields described in the table below.
  6. Click Create.

The following table describes the fields of the Create new security level and Update <level> dialogs.

FieldDescription
NameRequired. Up to 80 characters, without / \ | " : * ? < > { }, and different from the other level names.
RequirementsThe security requirements that members of projects with this level must be certified for. You can select several.
DescriptionOptional. Up to 250 characters, without <, >, { or }. Markdown is supported.

Edit a Security Level​

Method one:​

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Security Levels in the left panel.
  4. Select the security level you want to edit.
  5. Click the Edit button in the top right panel.
  6. In the Update <level> dialog, edit the security level name, requirements, and the optional description.
  7. Click Update.

Method two:​

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Projects in the left panel.
  4. Under the column Level, enter the security level you want to edit.
  5. Select the project with the corresponding security level.
  6. Click the Open Overlay button in the top right panel.
  7. In the new window, under the Properties section, click the Security Requirements card in the left panel.
  8. Click the Edit security level button in the top right panel.
  9. In the pop-up, edit the security level name, requirements, and the optional description.
  10. Once done, click Update.

Delete Security Level(s)​

bulk-action

  1. Go to the Management icon in the top left taskbar.
  2. Navigate to the Projects section.
  3. Click Security Levels in the left panel.
  4. Select the security level(s) you want to delete.
  5. Click the Delete button in the top right panel.
  6. In the Delete <level>? dialog (or Delete N security levels?), click Delete <level> (or Delete N security levels).

The dialog explains: "Deleting a security level is permanent, but an effectively identical one can always be created in its place." If you lack the Create security levels permission, it also warns that you will not be able to undo the action.