Grant any user the ability to start your virtual machine
You want people in your organization or research group to be able to launch a virtual machine if it ever gets shut down. The virtual machine may get shut down, for example, if new software needs to be installed.
How to give a user access to your virtual machine.
Users can grant others the ability to launch a virtual machine by sharing the virtual machine template with them. This feature shares both the virtual machine template AND the drive, yet you as a user only have to share once.
- Navigate to the virtual machines tab in the main menu bar.
- Locate the virtual machine that you would like to share.
- Select the
User Managementcard on the top left of the right panel.
- A modal will appear that prompts the user to enter the users that they would like to share the virtual machine with, their role and their permissions.
Queuethen add more users in the same way.
- Once you are happy with the number of users, click
Add Usersbutton on the bottom right.
Users must be part of the same team to share virtual machine configurations.
- If the user that you are sharing the VM with is using tiCrypt, they need to log out and log back in to see the shared virtual machine in their virtual machine list.
- Launch the shared machine. The shared user does not even need to attach the shared drive.
Users can continue the lineage of sharing virtual machines that were shared with them as long as they are in the same team.
If you are ever unsure about which virtual machine is yours or which was shared with you, click on the User Management card, and you can see all of the users who are shared on the virtual machine. The names listed in the
managers card are usually the owners of the virtual machine.