What is a team?
Teams are a management tool used by administrators to group users together based on maintaining a quota. When a user is placed in a team they are granted a certain amount of "data" that must be shared amongst all of the team members. Teams are completely independent of groups and projects. Teams simply restrict the amount of data usage that a user has.
Within the "All teams" tab, users can see every team that exists in the system. Each row displays basic information about the team such as the number of members and the current data usage.
All Teams actions
There are a variety of actions that can be done in this tab. A few of these actions can be done to multiple teams at a time. To select multiple teams, hold down shift while clicking the team's row as seen below.
The actions that can be done to teams can be accessed in either the top menu bar or in the left panel when selecting a team as seen below.
|Delete||Users can delete a team from the system. All users must be removed from the team before it can be deleted.|
|Assign to subadmin||Allows users to edit the First/Last Name, contact email, department and position.|
|Edit metadata||Allows users to edit data such as the name and description of a team.|
|Edit quotas||Allows users to edit the quotas of that team such as memory, storage and drive size.|
|Make announcement||Allows users to make an announcement to selected teams. These messages will show up in notifications.|
|Add members||Allows users to add one or more users to selected teams.|
Getting started with a Team
Create a team
A user can create a team by selecting the plus icon located in the top right of the screen as seen below while in the "All Teams tab."
Next, users should edit the quotas as that is the main purpose of teams. This can be accessed using the left panel or the top action menu.
Finally, users should add members to their team. This can be accessed using the left panel or the top action menu.
All Teams vs All Team Memberships
There are two subtabs underneath the main Teams topic; All teams and All team memberships. Although they have similar functionality, each tab was implemented to assist the user in different scenarios.
The All Teams tab is where teams get created. From there, all of the above actions can be done. The All Team Memberships tab serves a higher purpose when it comes to doing bulk actions.
If a user needs to delete a team from the system, they must first remove all members from that team. The user would go to the All Team Memberships tab and filter by that team. From there the user could select all members from that team and remove their membership.